Moonlight

 

 

Hmmmm…I liked this book: Moonlight by Ann Hunter.  It reminded me of an old fairytale, and it was a relatively short read (at least for me).
It took me about 2 hours, give or take a bit.
Aowyn is the heroine, and a majority of the names in here are Gaelic…I think. Well, the website says Irish.

Which, I love!

I love to see how these names are pronounced, and the author is kind enough to tell us at the beginning of the book. Unfortunately, on a kindle it is hard to go back and forth every time I need to be reminded how to pronounce words, and so I usually just skip over them, which can make it confusing.
This is my problem, not the authors.
I shouldn’t be so lazy.
So, Aowyn witnesses the death of her mother, the cursing of her brothers, as well as some deaths there, and the rise of an evil bandh sidhe (ban shee if I remember the pronunciation correctly, that is NOT in the book that I found).
She makes a deal with an evil guy, falls in love with the enemy, and ends up saving the day.
That’s the plot in a nutshell.
I loved the simple magic of the book. It really does read like a fairytale, and I can’t help but love it for that reason.
It’s kind of ethereal.

An Aowyn, just her name makes me feel all fairytale-ish. Seriously…it’s such a pretty name and of course, thanks to Lord of the Rings, just conjures up all kinds of magical thoughts.

This really is a beautiful story, and when Ann talked to me, she called it a fractured fairytale, which I am hearing about more and more.

AND I LOVE the idea of it! I really cannot wait to see what else she comes up with!

Go buy it, and REMEMBER to review the book!!!

Leave a Reply

